Stories of My Demise are Greatly Exaggerated!

by Hossein Noshirvani

When I was in fourth grade I had a pair of black Gold’s Gym sweatpants that I wore every day. These things could walk on their own. They had holes and stains. They were disgusting. Perfect for a 10 year old.

For people my age, Gold’s is an iconic brand like Nike, Starbucks, or McDonalds. The brand, the image, the prestige means something to us. I suspect many of you bought the franchise because of it. You, the franchisees, are stewards for the brand. Responsible for maintaining, grooming, and growing it. And over the years I have had the pleasure of getting to know many of you and having you as clients (well at least some of you, I can’t stand that Willy guy. Willy, I kid ‘cuz I love). As a group, Gold’s Gym franchisees are a big family.

And like any family you will occasionally disagree, argue and fight. But you always have one thing in common. A bond that holds you together (perhaps an explanation why my sweatpants didn’t disintegrate): the Gold’s Gym badge. The sign in the front that says, if you come in here, you will have a great experience, we will help you get into shape. In here, you are amongst friends.

A few years ago, word was that Gold’s was finished. They had lost touch with the industry. The model, the pricing, and look were old. Surpassed by Planet Fitness, Snap, and Anytime. And people started jumping on the bandwagon. I was ready to join them. But I had the pleasure of getting to know a small franchisee in Montana. He set me straight, and reminded me of why Gold’s isn’t going away. He reminded why I loved those sweatpants. And why Gold’s will continue to be one of the strongest growth brands in the industry.

Perhaps the brand is having a mid-life crisis, it is close to 50 years old after all. Maybe it’s time to buy a Corvette, get some hair implants, and a new outfit. The evolution of Gold’s Gym will continue, and they can rest assured that it’s definitely in the right hands!

We look forward to seeing all of you in Vegas this year. Please stop by our booth and take a look at how Motionsoft  software and billing can help you continue to grow and evolve (without buying a car).


Brought to you by GGFA Supplier Partner, Motionsoft.

About GGFA

The Gold's Gym Franchisee Association is the independent voice of the Gold's Gym franchisees.
This entry was posted in Management & Operations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stories of My Demise are Greatly Exaggerated!

  1. I can’t believe nobody posted . . .whoever writes this stuff is hilarious!

    Please do stop by and look at our club management software and billing solutions!

    Hossein
    Founder, Motionsoft.net
    http://www.motionsoft.net
    http://www.fillmygym.com

Leave a Reply

