Sharing Joyful Tears

By Ginger Collins, GGFA Executive Director

In January 1993, in the freezing ice falling briskly and in the early dusk, I recall standing in the parking lot of what was soon to be my first Gold’s Gym opening after a very successful construction and pre-sale.  Why the heck was I there?  I was waiting for the builder to turn on my beautiful race-way Gold’s Gym sign.  And suddenly it came on.  I promise I still remember the feeling.  It was a sense of pride, ownership and labor of love that I will always have.  I had tears streaming down my face.  I have no idea how long I was there but finally after realizing I must have appeared like a crazy person, I wiped away the tears and walked back to the pre-sale office in the shopping center.  And the Gold’s Gym owners reading this have their own stories….well, maybe without the tears! 

People ask me all the time, do I miss being a Franchisee.  I absolutely miss all the great things…not so much the rough times – although they did make me stronger. But, find something you love to do and you’ll never have to work a day in your life!   Which is exactly what I do each waking morning now with the GGFA and it’s because of all of the Gold’s Gym Franchisees…you inspire me. 

Each one of you is a leader.  Although some people are born leaders, many times people who have never had a leadership role will stand up and take the lead when a situation they care about requires it.  It is never easy to take this position as you need to make decisions and face challenges and have mental toughness, but it can become rewarding.  And anyone owning a Gold’s Gym understands this intimately. 

Franchisee in GA and GGFA Director Emeritus, Gordon Johnson (one of the few heroes in my life) reminded me recently of an impactful video of Simon Sinek that I urge you to take the time to listen to it.  Click on the picture of Simon Sinek to the left or the link below.  “How Great Leaders Inspire Actionhttp://www.ted.com/talks/simon_sinek_how_great_leaders_inspire_action.html

And…. I can’t let this moment go without reminding you all to register for the GGFA Regional Workshops!  The links went out in the GGFA Weekly Brief yesterday! 

Thank you all for letting me be in your world…..

Ginger

About GGFA

The Gold's Gym Franchisee Association is the independent voice of the Gold's Gym franchisees.
This entry was posted in Best Practices, From the Executive Director. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

