Thoughts for the Gold’s Gym Challenge

by Gold’s Gym Challenge Committee and Sponsors

April signifies the completion of the final flights for the 2012 Gold’s Gym Challenge.  This year’s Challenge was an enormous success with over 160 teams participating representing 240 gyms combining franchise and corporate locations.   

I wanted to share some special messages from the Gold’s Gym Challenge Committee and Sponsors. 

Owners, please take a few moments to read the following thoughts as they are inspirational and leave lasting impressions.   I encourage you to share these messages with your staff and individuals involved in the Gold’s Gym Challenge.

Ginger Collins, Executive Director
Gold’s Gym Franchisee Association

 _______________________________________________

The Gold’s Gym Challenge is – in my opinion – the single most motivating event we can offer to our members as well as for our staff. Why? Because it represents who we are, what we do, and it teaches so many that a healthy lifestyle is worth every second of sweat and hard work. The Challenge motivates our members – the members motivate our staff!

Here is the PERFECT example, taken from the essay of one of our finalists for this year about why she chose to do the Challenge: 

Loneliness. A kind of silence that roars.

Sometimes, people do wrong things to help combat sadness, stress or in my case, loneliness. It didn’t take long however for my loneliness to join forces with sadness.

I have always been healthy. I have always been in shape. But, loneliness and sadness dulled me out, I didn’t realize it at first. I knew when I started to find a friend with Mr. Beer or Ms. Wine to help settle my discomfort, that the term ‘self medicate’ became truly relative and I didn’t like it.  I felt awful about myself.

Soon, Christmas came – and went. But, not without a compassionate gift from my mom and dad. They knew I wanted to do the challenge, but I couldn’t afford it. Mom said, “This is a Christmas gift and I am more than happy to see you get healthier, this is the best kind of gift I could think of giving.”

The challenge wasn’t a challenge, rather, it became my…journey – an experience. Exercise can be a worldly experience, your body working to dispel and build, work and fight, flow harmoniously, heal and deal. The Gold’s Gym Challenge became for me my ‘Gold’s Gym Journey Work-With’ (the only thing I wanted OUT was my negative thoughts, and they have been dealt with.)

And as for the loneliness…

I’ve made a few, blossoming friends. A couple of them greet me right at the door of the Gold’s Gym in Wenatchee. Here is something I wrote in my journal about the staff in Wenatchee a while back:

“I liked how the staff would greet me like Elisa, Ryan, Kami and Cindy. I learned their names quickly…and soon, they learned mine. I remember when I first started going, they would be able to key in member’s numbers. One day I came in and Ryan said, “Hi xxx, I got you” and he punched in my number. I felt awesome. I felt, by that very gesture, with ALL those people coming in daily, that I was remembered too.”

I know to some this may be nothing special, but for me, it is. Especially when you feel lonely and forgotten, when somebody remembers you, it is special. “

THAT is why we do the Challenge. THAT is why we are in this business. I have shared this whole essay with our staff and it has elevated their mindful presence at the front counter to an all time high.  It’s members like this who remind me every day that I am SO lucky to have a job that I love and people around me that I adore! Honestly, you can’t afford NOT to do the Gold’s Gym Challenge! 

Jenny Hymer, Gold’s Gym Wenatchee

_______________________________________________

Every year, Gold’s Gym is proud to offer The Challenge, our largest promotion of the year, to current and new members nationwide.

For our associates, this event is our ultimate opportunity to drive new membership and create a sense of excitement and community in our gyms. For our members, this is their chance to push themselves harder than ever before to attain their personal fitness goals.

They come from all walks of life and experiences. Similar to the stories from “Show Us Your Journey,” our members show inner strength and a desire to overcome their odds and be in the best physical shape of their lives.

This year has been the most powerful year for the Gold’s Gym Challenge to date. A record 3,500 members signed up to push themselves harder and transform their bodies in just 12 weeks.

Our members worked hard and got great results. Now as we near the finishing line, it’s time for their final weigh-ins April 25-27 and a shot at more than $75,000 in cash prizes! And as a special congrats from us, members will receive a free duffle bag ($40 value) for finishing.

Thank you for making this one of the most successful Challenges- you have made an impact on our gyms and our members!

Dave Reiseman, Vice President Communications
Gold’s Gym International

_______________________________________________

We at Met-Rx want to congratulate all the teams for their strength and drive to take on such a life changing experience. The MET-Rx® brand revolutionized the sports nutrition industry nearly two decades ago and we are proud to be a sponsor for this event. MET-Rx® can assist you in creating an effective nutritional program that fits your lifestyle so you can shape your body for optimum health. “Good Luck to All”.

Don Ernst, Director of Sales & Distribution
MET-Rx

_______________________________________________

 

As a proud sponsor of the 2012 Gold’s Gym Challenge, ABC Financial congratulates all of the participants.  Your focus, dedication and commitment to achieving your goals are an inspiration to us all!  We also congratulate our Gold’s Gym partners on the continued success of this amazing transformation event.

Steve Ayers, Chief Revenue Officer
ABC Financial Services, Inc.

Dana Milkie, Sr. Vice President
ABC Financial Services, Inc.

_______________________________________________

Matrix is proud to be a sponsor of the Gold’s Gym Challenge again in 2012. This has become one of my favorite events personally because we can see remarkable results and hear touching stories of how people’s lives have truly been changed through fitness. The GG Challenge participants all across the country have turned the tables on the equipment manufacturers and Gold’s Gym owners, as they are now the ones inspiring us!

Kent Stevens, Executive Vice President
Matrix Fitness

_______________________________________________

The Gold’s Gym Challenge is absolutely one of the BEST LIFE-CHANGING programs in the world!  Visual Fitness Planner is proud to be a part of this effort to transform lives around the world.  The Vision of our company is “Creating achievable Visions” and our Mission is to “build innovative systems that … communicate value, educate, and guide customer decision making for the advancement of health, visually and emotionally through cutting edge technology”.  The Gold’s Gym Challenge changes people’s lives by motivating people to give their very best effort in a pre-determined amount of time.  And when people do that, they succeed!  Remember what John Wooden, the legendary basketball coach at UCLA defines success as…. he said:

 “Success is peace of mind, which is a direct result of self-satisfaction in knowing you made the effort to do your best to become the best that you are capable of becoming.”  

And every participant is encouraged to succeed through the Gold’s Gym Challenge!

Congratulations to all of the clubs giving the effort to help their members become the best of which they are capable!

Daron Allen, President/CEO
Visual Fitness Planner

About GGFA

The Gold's Gym Franchisee Association is the independent voice of the Gold's Gym franchisees.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

