Giving Thanks …

by Ginger Collins, GGFA Executive Director

Ginger Winter Pic bioThursday commemorates a harvest festival celebrated by the Pilgrims in 1621.  Today it has also become a day we give thanks for our blessings from throughout the past year.

Here are some fun facts about this American national holiday.  51 million turkeys will be consumed across the country on Thursday.  An average US household will spend over $300 on festivities and 39 million families will travel to be with their relatives.  And, according to the US Department of Agriculture, the total US spending for the holiday tops out at around $2,375,000,000.

This year’s football games are the Bears vs. the Lions at 12:30, Eagles vs. Cowboys at 4:30 and the Seahawks and the Niners at 8:30.  All should be great games!  I think my favorite will be the last one….

And Black Friday’s predictions are out the roof with massive sales and extended – extended and extended hours….  You will probably find me in Macy’s in the shoe department!

I will be with my family here in Suwanee and then travel to my hometown, Columbus GA to visit my life-long best friend and her family.  I’ll reach out to those closest to me via email and text and share my gratitude for being so special in my life.  You know who you are!

But I wanted to also take a moment and give thanks to all of you.  Franchisees, the GGFA Staff, suppliers and friends in the industry all give me purpose.  There is a reason to get up every day and strive to reach the goals and objectives that can make a difference.  Your support and encouragement makes me more determined to drive daily, weekly and yearly to fulfill the GGFA Strategy…..”Create Conditions That Allow Franchisees to Thrive”. 

I wish you the most loving Thanksgiving ever.

And remember, you really DON’T have to have that second piece of pumpkin pie!  Go for more turkey!

About GGFA

The Gold's Gym Franchisee Association is the independent voice of the Gold's Gym franchisees.
This entry was posted in From the Executive Director. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

